Watch CBSN Live

WGA Awards 2014: "Captain Phillips," "Her" win top honors

"Captain Phillips" and "Her" were the big winners at Sunday night's WGA Awards.

The honors, handed out by the East and West Coast branches of the Writers Guild of America, named Billy Ray the winner of best adapted screenplay for the Somali pirate drama, while Spike Jonze got best original screenplay for his futuristic love story.

In the adapted screenplay category, Ray beat out Tracy Letts for "August: Osage County," Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke for "Before Midnight," Peter Berg for "Lone Survivor" and Terence Winter for "The Wolf of Wall Street."

Jonze, meanwhile, beat out screenplays from Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell for "American Hustle," Woody Allen for "Blue Jasmine," Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack for "Dallas Buyers Club" and Bob Nelson for "Nebraska."

"It's a high honor coming from writers," Jonze said in his acceptance speech, according to Variety. "In a way this is like an award for pain. A specific pain that writers know. The highs and lows of sitting there by yourself. I thank you guys for that."

On the TV side, "Breaking Bad" picked up the award for best drama series (and also won for best episodic drama), while "Veep" won for best comedy and Netflix's "House of Cards" won for best new series.

Last year's WGA adapted screenplay winner, "Argo," went on to win at the same category at the Academy Awards. The WGA awarded best original screenplay to "Zero Dark Thirty," but "Django Unchained" went on to win the Oscar.

For the full list of winners, head to the WGA's website