"The Amazing Race" season 25: Meet the teams

"The Amazing Race" kicks off its 25th season in New York City's Times Square.


Get ready to hit the starting line for a new season of "The Amazing Race."

CBS announced the cast for the competition's 25th edition on Thursday, revealing the 11 teams that are racing around the world for the chance to win $1 million.

They include "Soul Surfer" Bethany Hamilton, the professional surfer who lost her arm in a 2003 shark attack, who is competing with her husband, Adam Dirks, and married "Survivor" alums Whitney Duncan and Keith Tollefson.

This season also introduces a new twist to the race. The team that finishes first in the premiere episode will be awarded an advantage called "The Save," which they can use to rescue themselves if they come in last on a leg and face elimination.

"The Amazing Race" kicked off in May with the first-ever public start from Times Square in New York City. From there, teams began their journey through eight countries and 20 cities, spanning more than 26,000 miles. For the first time in "Race" history, the competition will travel to St. Thomas, Virgin Islands, where they'll will fly high in the sky; Valletta, Malta, where they'll rappel 200 feet into a breathtaking Blue Grotto sea cave; and the Shetland Islands, Scotland, to test their sheep-herding skills.

Season 25 premieres on a new night and time, kicking off Friday, Sept. 26, at 8 p.m. ET on CBS.

Click through the gallery above to meet the 11 teams competing on "The Amazing Race."