Watch CBSN Live

"Silver Linings Playbook" wins top prize at Toronto

(CBS News) TORONTO - "Silver Linings Playbook," a comedy-drama about a man returning home from a psychiatric ward, won the top audience award at the Toronto International Film Festival.

The film, starring Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence and Robert De Niro, and directed by David O. Russell ("The Fighter"), won the BlackBerry People's Choice Award.

The first runner-up was Ben Affleck's "Argo," about an attempt to help Americans trapped in Tehran during the Iranian Revolution to escape while disguised as a film crew.

Previous winners of the People's Choice Award have included "Slumdog Millionaire" and "The King's Speech," both of which went on to with the Best Picture Academy Award.

The BlackBerry People's Choice Midnight Madness Award went to "Seven Psychopaths" by Martin McDonagh ("In Bruges"). First runner-up was Barry Levinson's horror flick "The Bay."

Other awards presented:

Best Canadian Short Film: "Keep A Modest Head" by Deco Dawson

Best Canadian Feature Film: "Laurence Anyways" by Xavier Dolan

Best Canadian First Feature Film (Tie): "Antiviral" by Brandon Cronenberg"; and "Blackbird" by Jason Buxton

International Critics (Fipresci) Prize for Special Presentations: "Dans La Maison" (In The House) by Francois Ozon

International Critics (Fipresci) Prize for the Discovery Program: "Call Girl" by Mikael Marcimain

BlackBerry People's Choice Award: "Silver Linings Playbook" by David O. Russell

First runner-up: "Argo" by Ben Affleck

Second runner-up: "Zaytoun" by Eran Riklis

BlackBerry People's Choice Midnight Madness Award: "Seven Psychopaths" by Martin McDonagh

First runner-up: "The Bay" by Barry Levinson

Second runner-up: "John Dies at the End" by Don Coscarelli

BlackBerry People's Choice Documentary Award: "Artifact" by Bartholomew Cubbins

First runner-up: "Storm Surfers 3D" by Christopher Nelius and Justin McMillan

Second runner-up: "Revolution" by Rob Stewart

Netpac Award for the Best World or International Asian Feature Film Premiere: "The Land of Hope" by Sion Sono

Grolsch Film Works Discovery Award: "Detroit Unleaded" by Rola Nashef

View CBS News In