Watch CBSN Live

National Society of Film Critics picks "Amour"

The National Society of Film Critics today named Michael Haneke's "Amour" as the Best Picture of 2012. The film, about an elderly Parisian couple struggling to cope with a major health crisis, also won Best Director and Best Actress for Emmanuelle Riva.

The society, a nationwide group of 60 prominent writers on film from major print, broadcast and online outlets, also named Daniel Day-Lewis Best Actor for his performance in "Lincoln."

Amy Adams was chosen Best Supporting Actress for her role as the wife of a cult leader in "The Master." Matthew McConaughey was named Best Supporting Actor for two performances -- as a male stripper in "Magic Mike," and a prosecuting attorney in "Bernie."

A complete list of winners follows.

Best Picture: "Amour"
Runners-up: "The Master"; "Zero Dark Thirty"

Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis, "Lincoln"
Runners-up: Denis Lavant, "Holy Motors"; Joaquin Phoenix, "The Master"

Best Actress: Emmanuelle Riva, "Amour"
Runners-up: Jennifer Lawrence, "Silver Linings Playbook"; Jessica Chastain, "Zero Dark Thirty"

Best Supporting Actor: Matthew McConaughey, "Magic Mike"/"Bernie"
Runners-up: Tommy Lee Jones, "Lincoln"; Philip Seymour Hoffman, "The Master"

Best Supporting Actress: Amy Adams, "The Master"
Runners-up: Sally Field, "Lincoln"; Anne Hathaway, "Les Miserables"

Best Director: Michael Haneke, "Amour"
Runners-up: Kathryn Bigelow, "Zero Dark Thirty"; Paul Thomas Anderson, "The Master"

Best Nonfiction: "The Gatekeepers"
Runners-up: "This Is Not a Film"; "Searching for Sugar Man"

Best Screenplay: Tony Kushner, "Lincoln"
Runners-up: Paul Thomas Anderson, "The Master"; David O. Russell, "Silver Linings Playbook"

Best Cinematography: Mihai Malaimare, Jr., "The Master"
Runners-up: Roger Deakins, "Skyfall"; Greig Fraser, "Zero Dark Thirty"

Best Experimental Film: "This Is Not a Film" by Jafar Panahi

Film Heritage Awards: Laurence Kardish, Senior Film Curator at MoMA, for his extraordinary 44 years of service, including this year's Weimar Cinema retrospective; and Milestone Film and Video for their ongoing Shirley Clarke project.