Watch CBSN Live

Hollywood Film Awards 2014: What's in store for first televised show

Awards season will heat up Friday when a slew of A-list actors gather for the Hollywood Film Awards, debuting for the first time on television -- on CBS.

Plenty of stars will be in attendance, including Steve Carell, Johnny Depp, Laura Dern, Angelina Jolie, Jared Leto, Jennifer Lopez, Mike Meyers, Robert Pattinson, Eddie Redmayne, Chris Rock, Hilary Swank, Amy Adams, Gerard Butler, Benedict Cumberbatch, Robert Downey, Jr., Robert Duvall, Jonah Hill, Keira Knightley, Michael Keaton, Julianne Moore, Jack O'Connell, Chris Pratt, Kristen Stewart, Channing Tatum, Jean-Marc Vallee, Reese Witherspoon and Shailene Woodley. Janelle Monae is scheduled to perform with her band throughout the ceremony.

Queen Latifah, who serves as this year's host, told "CBS This Morning" that viewers can expect "something crazy, something irreverent, something fun."

Queen Latifah on career and hosting the Holly... 04:40

The marks the 18th annual event, but the first to broadcast live on television. Carlos de Abreu, who describes himself as an author, producer, screenwriter, brand marketing expert and Internet pioneer, launched the awards show in 1997. It's traditionally been an industry insider gala that lasted roughly four hours and featured a sit-down dinner. The founder has since teamed up with CBS and dick clark productions to stage the show, condensing it into a two-hour TV format.

The Hollywood Film Awards -- which recognize "excellence in the art of cinema and filmmaking" -- differ from other popular film galas as there are no nominee announcements -- just categories. Winners of the event are chosen by a revolving committee of 12 entertainment industry insiders, headed by de Abreu. Some of the Hollywood Film Awards honorees go on to get nods at the Academy Awards and Golden Globes.

Prizes will be presented in 18 categories, including director, blockbuster of the year, screenwriter, acting ensemble and comedy film. There's also a career achievement honor that will be handed out.

Coined as the "Official Launch of the Award Season," the Hollywood Film Awards ceremony comes months before the Globes, Grammys, Screen Actors Guild Awards and the Oscars.

Among last year's honorees were Sandra Bullock, Chris Cooper, Benedict Cumberbatch, Lee Daniels and Julia Roberts.

The show will get underway at the Hollywood Palladium with a red carpet preview at 7:30 p.m. ET on CBS. The ceremony will broadcast from 8 p.m. - 10 p.m. ET, followed by a one-hour post-show featuring honoree interviews and a look back at the evening's highlights. "CBS This Morning's" Charlie Rose, Norah O'Donnell and Gayle King will host the post-event.

"I'm game for anything within reason...And we'll see what happens," said Queen Latifah.

Meanwhile, some honors have already been announced:

Hollywood Cinematography Award: Emmanuel Lubezki, "Birdman"

Hollywood International Award: Jing Tian

Hollywood Visual Effects Award: Scott Farrar, "Transformers: Age of Extinction"

Hollywood Film Composer Award: Alexandre Desplat, "The Imitation Game"

Hollywood Costume Design Award: Milena Canonero, "The Grand Budapest Hotel"

Hollywood Editing Award: Jay Cassidy and Dody Dorn, "Fury"

Hollywood Production Design Award: Dylan Cole and Gary Freeman, "Maleficent"

Hollywood Sound Award: Ren Klyce, "Gone Girl"

Hollywood Makeup and Hairstyling Award: David White (Special Makeup Effects) and Elizabeth Yanni-Georgiou (Hair Designer and Makeup Designer), "Guardians of the Galaxy"

Tell us: Do you plan to watch the Hollywood Film Awards?

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue