Watch CBSN Live

German Winners Of The Nobel Literature Prize

Herta Mueller is the 10th German to win the Nobel Prize in literature. Here is a list of German writers who have received the award.


2009: Herta Mueller

1999: Gunter Grass

1972: Heinrich Boell

1966: Nelly Sachs

1946: Hermann Hesse

1929: Thomas Mann

1912: Gerhart Hauptmann

1910: Paul Heyse

1908: Rudolf Eucken

1902: Theodor Mommsen

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.