'Edgars' Mystery Solved

Who won the 2006 Edgar Allan Poe mystery writing awards?

The mystery is solved. The winners of the Edgars have been announced in New York.

The Edgar for best novel went to "Citizen Vince." Whodunit? Author Jess Walter. It's his third novel.

The award for best first novel by an American author was won by Theresa Schwegel for "Officer Down."

Mystery Writers of America presented the Edgars for the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction, television and film to 12 winners at a Manhattan banquet on Thursday, April 27. The New York-based organization for mystery and crime writers, fans and professionals related to the genre, has given the Edgars annually since 1946. Previous winners have included Agatha Christie, Raymond Chandler, Tony Hillerman and Elmore Leonard.

The awards are named for Edgar Allan Poe, writer of macabre poetry and short stories.

The full list of awards:

  • Best novel: "Citizen Vance," Jess Walter
  • Best first novel by an American author: "Officer Down," Theresa Schwegel
  • Paperback original: "Girl in the Glass," Jeffrey Ford
  • Critical/biographical: "Girl Sleuth: Nancy Drew and the Women Who Created Her," Melanie Rehak
  • Fact crime: "Rescue Artist: A True Story of Art, Thieves and the Hunt for a Missing Masterpiece," Edward Dolnick
  • Short story: "The Catch," in "Greatest Hits," James W. Hall
  • Young adult: "Last Shot," John Feinstein
  • Juvenile: "The Boys of San Joaquin," D. James Smith
  • Play: "Matter of Intent," Gary Earl Ross
  • Television episode teleplay, "Sea of Souls" episode, "Amulet," Ed Whitmore
  • Motion picture screenplay: "Syriana," by Stephen Gaghan, based on the book by Robert Baer
  • The Simon & Schuster-Mary Higgins Clark Award: "Dark Angel," Karen Harper