Watch CBS News

Special Election Tuesday To Fill Empty Miami-Dade Commission Seat

Follow CBSMIAMI.COM: Facebook | Twitter

MIAMI (CBSMiami) -- Some Miami-Dade residents are voting for a new county commissioner Tuesday.

There's a special election to fill the empty District 5 seat previously held by Bruno Barreiro, who resigned to run for U.S. Congress.

Four candidates are running: Zoraida Barreiro, the ex-commissioner's wife; Alex Diaz de la Portilla, a former state senator; Carlos Garin, a television actor; and Eileen Higgins, a marketing executive.

Residents who live in parts of Miami Beach, Brickell, Little Havana, Coral Way, and West Flagler will be able to vote. District 5 has about 95,000 registered voters, roughly 7 percent of the county's voter total. The winner will finish out Barreiro's remaining two years on the 13-seat commission.

Polls are open until 7:00 p.m.

To see a map of the district, click here.

There are 34 polling places in District 5 for the special election. For a list of locations, click here.

If one candidate does not receive more than 50-percent of the vote, the top two finishers will compete in a runoff election on June 19.

(©2018 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. CBS4 news partner The Miami Herald contributed material for this report.)


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.