Watch CBS News

Noles Dominate All-ACC Selections

TALLAHASSEE (CBSMiami) – Florida State, Clemson, and North Carolina dominated the 1st and 2nd team All-Atlantic Coast Conference selections released Monday.

Florida State placed 12 players on the first and second All-ACC team as voted on by the 46 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. The Noles had four players selected on the first team defense including: defensive ends Bjoern Werner and Cornelius Carradine along with cornerback Xavier Rhodes and safety LaMarcus Joyner.

In addition, kicker Dustin Hopkins was named the first team All-ACC kicker.

Seminoles senior quarterback EJ Manuel was the second-team All-ACC quarterback and was joined on the second team offense by: offensive tackle Cameron Erving, guard Tre Jackson, center Bryan Stork, and running back Chris Thompson.

FSU had two players named to the All-ACC second team defense. Defensive tackle Everett Dawkins and linebacker Christian Jones were both selected to the second team defense.

Clemson quarterback Tajh Boyd was selected as the league's first team quarterback while North Carolina running back was selected as the top running back.

(TM and © Copyright 2012 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2012 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.