Watch CBS News

Miami-Dade Mayor, Commissioners Sworn In Tuesday

MIAMI-DADE (CBSMiami) –Miami-Dade Mayor Carlos Gimenez was officially sworn in to his first full term in office Tuesday morning.

The installation ceremony took place at the South Miami-Dade Cultural Arts Center in Cutler Bay.

Mayor Gimenez has been in office for more than a year but was filling in for the remainder of ousted Mayor Carlos Alvarez's term. Gimenez defeated six candidates, including outgoing Commission Chairman Joe Martinez in the August election, and now gets four years of his own to govern. He can seek reelection in 2016.

The installation ceremony also included the swearing in of seven commissioners. They are Audrey Edmonson, Barbara Jordan, Bruno Barreiro, Xavier Suarez, Dennis Moss and Esteban Bovo, Jr. plus the only new commissioner on the board Juan C. Zapata.

Tuesday afternoon, a regularly scheduled commission meeting will convene at 2 p.m. at County Hall commission chambers in downtown Miami where the board will elect a new chair and vice-chair to serve a two-year term.


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.