Watch CBS News

Marlins Shut Out By Rays 8-0

MIAMI (CBSMiami/AP) – Ryan Yarbrough allowed two hits over six innings of splendid relief and the AL East-leading Tampa Bay Rays beat the Miami Marlins 8-0 on Friday night.

The Rays got three RBIs apiece from Randy Arozarena and Kevin Kiermaier, who was a homer short of the cycle.

Tampa Bay, which clinched a postseason spot Wednesday, has a magic number of three to secure its second consecutive AL East title.

The number would be reduced to two with a Boston loss to the New York Yankees later Friday.

Yarbrough (9-6) replaced opener David Robertson in the second and had four strikeouts.

Dietrich Enns went the final two innings to complete a two-hitter.

Robertson worked a scoreless first in his first career start after 670 relief outings.

It was the most appearances out of the bullpen at the time of a pitcher's first major league start, passing Joakim Soria's 666, according to STATS.

Tampa Bay rookie shortstop Wander Franco returned after missing two weeks with a right hamstring injury and extended his on-base streak to 40 games with a sixth-inning walk. Only Frank Robinson, with a 43-game run in 1956, has a longer one among players under 21.

Franco doubled in the eighth and went to third on defensive indifference with the Rays ahead 8-0.

He spoke with catcher Sandy León, who made his fifth appearance as a reliever, as the pair left the field after the inning.

The Marlins dropped to 3-15 in interleague games. Miami center fielder Bryan De La Cruz was ejected for arguing after a called third strike on a check-swing appeal in the first inning.

After the Rays loaded the bases against Edward Cabrera (0-3) on two walks and a single with two outs in the first, Arozarena made it 3-0 when he doubled on a full-count pitch.

Cabrera gave up three runs, two hits, four walks and struck out six over three innings. The rookie needed 61 pitches to get four outs before requiring just 15 to get the next five.

Kiermaier had a two-run double in the fourth and Francisco Mejía drove in two with a single in the fifth off Sean Guenther as Tampa Bay went up 7-0.

Kiermaier added a run-scoring triple in the seventh.


"They are a challenge, and it's actually exciting to play them because of how good they are. They're fun to play against. Fun and not fun." — Marlins manager Don Mattingly on the Rays.


Rays catcher Mike Zunino was the winner of the Don Zimmer Award as the team's MVP in voting by the Tampa Bay chapter of the BBWAA. Arozarena was selected as the outstanding rookie and Joey Wendle received the Champion Award for the spirit of professionalism on and off the field.


Marlins: Mattingly said Pablo Lopez (right rotator cuff strain) will rejoin the team after throwing two scoreless innings Thursday night for Triple-A Jacksonville. It hasn't been determined what the next step will be for the right-hander.

Rays: RHP Ryan Thompson will undergo surgery for thoracic outlet syndrome. … DH Nelson Cruz (illness) returned after missing two games.


Miami RHP Sandy Alcantara (9-13) and Rays LHP Shane McClanahan (9-6) are Saturday night's starters. Alcantara needs 5 1/3 innings to become the third pitcher in the majors to reach 200 innings this season.

(© Copyright 2021 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.