Watch CBS News

President Obama Declares Disaster In Southeast Texas

Follow CBSDFW.COM: Facebook | Twitter

WASHINGTON (CBSDFW.COM/AP) - President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster in three counties of south Texas following severe storms including tornadoes and flooding earlier this month.

The declaration covers Jasper, Newton and Orange Counties.

A press release sent from The White House said, in part -

"Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster."

The Sabine river along the border between Texas and Louisiana was hit with the worst flooding since 1884. Governor Greg Abbott had requested the federal declaration on Friday and said at the time that more counties may be added later.

South Texas wan't the only part of the state with severe weather damage -- The White House said that too is being taken under consideration.

"FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated after the assessments are fully completed."

(©2016 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.