Watch CBS News

Eric Johnson, Scott Griggs Make Runoff For Dallas Mayor's Race

DALLAS (CBSDFW.COM) - With 149 of 529 precincts reporting, State Rep. Eric Johnson has 21 percent of the vote, Dallas City Councilman Scott Griggs has 17 percent, Lynn McBee has 15 percent, Mike Ablon has 13 percent and Regina Montoya and Miguel Solis have 10 percent.

Eric Johnson and Scott Griggs
Eric Johnson and Scott Griggs (CBS 11)

Nine candidates ran for the open seat.

Mayor Mike Rawlings could not run again due to term limits.

Since no candidate got more than 50 percent of the votes, there will be a runoff between the top two candidates.

That runoff will happen on Saturday, June 8.

"Our support in this race has been across the entire city.  We have not fun a campaign focused on one sliver of the city, not just one demographic," said Johnson.  "We focused on the entire city of Dallas.

"Dallas is ready to go for a new direction," said Griggs. "Dallas wants to see a new kind of mayor.  We're very excited about this runoff."

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.