Watch CBS News

Red Wings Release 2016 Training Camp Roster And Teams

DETROIT – The Detroit Red Wings today released their training camp roster, comprised of 62 players who will hit the ice on Friday, Sept. 23 at Centre Ice Arena in Traverse City, Mich., for four days of camp before returning to Detroit to begin preseason play on Tuesday, Sept. 27.

This season, the Red Wings will bring 36 forwards, 19 defensemen and seven goaltenders to Traverse City to participate in daily on-ice practices or situational scrimmages. An additional seven players will rejoin the team in Detroit at the conclusion of the 2016 World Cup of Hockey, currently being held in Toronto. Following the team's annual Red & White Game on Monday, Sept. 26, players will break camp in preparation for the preseason opener on Tuesday, Sept. 27 against the Pittsburgh Penguins at Joe Louis Arena.

Tickets for all events are available online at Prices for practice sessions are $10 for standing-room only, $15 for reserved seating and $20 for the mezzanine. Tickets for the Training Camp Alumni & Celebrity Game and Red & White Game will start at $20 for standing-room only, $25 for reserved seating and $30 for the mezzanine. Select 2016 training camp merchandise will also be available for purchase. For additional information, please contact the Centre Ice Arena offices at (231) 933-7465.

A complete training camp schedule is available here.

Team Yzerman
Forwards: Louis-Marc Aubry, Mike Borkowski, Mitch Callahan, Colin Campbell, Dan Cleary, Darren Helm, Tomas Nosek, Gustav Nyquist, Teemu Pulkkinen*, Riley Sheahan, Givani Smith, Ben Street, Evgeni Svechnikov, Eric Tangradi, Henrik Zetterberg*
Defensemen: Conor Allen, Dylan Coghlan, Danny DeKeyser, Niklas Kronwall*, Brian Lashoff, Xavier Ouellet, Robbie Russo, Vili Saarijarvi*, Brendan Smith, Ryan Sproul
Goaltenders: Jared Coreau, Cal Heeter, Edward Pasquale

Team Howe
Forwards: Andreas Athanasiou, Tyler Bertuzzi, Kyle Criscuolo, Matthew Ford, Martin Frk, Luke Glendening, Tomas Jurco*, Matt Lorito, Anthony Mantha, Adam Marsh*, Drew Miller, Zach Nastasiuk, Steve Ott, Dylan Sadowy, Dominic Turgeon
Defensemen: Jonathan Ericsson, Mike Green, Joe Hicketts, Filip Hronek, Nick Jensen, Nathan Paetsch, Dan Renouf, Jordan Sambrook
Goaltenders: Jimmy Howard, Jake Paterson

Team Lindsay
Forwards: Justin Brazeau, Luke Coleman, Jeff de Wit, Alex Globke, Luke Kirwan, Mathew Santos
Defensemen: Matthew Caito
Goaltenders: Stephen Dhillon, Connor Hicks

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.