Watch CBS News

Detroit Symphony Orchestra Launches On-Demand Archive

DETROIT (WWJ/AP) - The Detroit Symphony Orchestra has launched an online, on-demand archive of its webcast performances.

The orchestra announced Wednesday the archive, called Replay, is composed of about 100 works originally performed on the "Live from Orchestra Hall" series.

The ensemble says it's the first U.S. orchestra to offer such an archive. About 5,000 annual fund supporters now are eligible to use the new service, and those who join the fund with a gift of at least $50 will get access.

"Thanks to Live from Orchestra Hall, lovers of great music have been able to enjoy our performances here in Detroit no matter where they may be," DSO Music Director Leonard Slatkin said in a statement. "Through Replay, they can relive these concerts whenever they would like."

Available pieces span the classical music genre and include those by Beethoven, Mozart, Ravel, Tchaikovsky, Gershwin and Rimsky-Korsakov.

Orchestra spokeswoman Gabrielle Poshadlo says the archive's content will be refreshed. She adds that officials have reached an agreement with orchestra musicians to keep the works available for three years.

For more information, visit

TM and © Copyright 2015 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2015 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.