Watch CBS News

Vail, Beaver Creek, Other Eagle County Communities Cancel Independence Day Celebration Fireworks

VAIL, Colo. (CBS4)- The Towns of Vail, Eagle, Gypsum, Beaver Creek and other Eagle County communities have decided to cancel their professional fireworks display during the Independence Day celebration.

Fireworks Generic
(credit: ThinkStock)

The decision was announced on Wednesday due to the fire restrictions in Eagle County, which move to Stage 2 on Friday.

The Sylvan Fire continues to grow in the White River National Forest, which has forced some closures in the forest and evacuations for some Eagle County residents.

sylvan fire night
(credit: Inciweb)

Even with the cancellation of the fireworks show, the other planned activities for the Independence Day Celebration will go on as planned.

Beaver Creek Independence Day Schedule of Events, July 4
11 a.m. – Seating Area opens at Park Hyatt Lawn
12 p.m. – Independence Day Celebration begins
12 p.m. – Stars, Stripes and Slides Opens
12 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. – Performance by Burnsville Blues Band
2:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. – Performance by Shari Puorto
5 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. – Performance by Shari Puorto
7 p.m. – Stars, Stripes and Slides closes
7:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. – Performance by Jackie Greene


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.