Watch CBS News

New Colorado Democrat Senate Majority Selects Leaders

DENVER (AP) - Pueblo's Sen. Leroy Garcia will serve as president of a Colorado Senate taken over by Democrats in this week's election.

Leroy Garcia
(credit: Leroy Garcia)

Garcia was chosen Thursday by the 19-member Democratic Senate caucus.

Democrats eliminated an 18-17 GOP majority in the 35-member chamber.

ELECTION RESULTS: See The Complete Colorado 2018 General Election Results

That completed a Colorado statehouse trifecta with Democrat Jared Polis' gubernatorial win and a hefty Democratic majority in the House.

Sen. Lois Court of Arapahoe County was named president pro-tem. Sen. Steve Fenberg of Boulder County and Sen.-elect Faith Winter of Westminster were elected majority leader and caucus chair, respectively.

Democrats will hold a 19-16 majority when the Senate next convenes in January.

(© Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.