Watch CBS News

DU Pioneers Win Record-Tying 9th Hockey Championship

BOSTON (AP) — Ryan Barrow and Mike Benning scored less than three minutes apart to give Denver the lead and the Pioneers awakened with five goals in the third period to rally past Minnesota State 5-1 on Saturday night for their record-tying ninth college hockey title.

2022 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship
BOSTON, MA - APRIL 9: The Denver Pioneers capture the NCAA title 5-1 against the Minnesota State Mavericks during the 2022 NCAA Division I Men's Hockey Frozen Four Championship game at TD Garden on April 9, 2022 in Boston, Massachusetts. (Photo by Richard T Gagnon/Getty Images)

Two nights after eliminating Michigan in the Frozen Four semifinal, Denver joined the Wolverines as the only schools with nine championships. Magnus Chrona stopped 27 shots for the Pioneers (31-9-1), who won it all for the first time since 2017.

Minnesota State (38-6) took a 1-0 lead on Sam Morton's first-period goal and dominated — outshooting Denver 18-8 in the first 40 minutes — before Barrow slid a rebound of Benning's shot through the legs of Hobey Baker Award winner Dryden McKay five minutes into the third.

Forty seconds later, Morton was sent off for tripping; he had just returned to the ice and crossed into the defensive zone when Benning one-timed it into the net to give the Pioneers the lead. Massimo Rizzo added another goal with 6:26 to play, and Brett Stapley and Cameron Wright added empty-netters 30 seconds apart in the final 2 1/2 minutes.

McKay made 15 saves for Minnesota State, which led the nation in wins.

(© Copyright 2022 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.