Watch CBS News

12 Victims Of Aurora Theater Shooting Remembered 9 Years Later

AURORA, Colo. (CBS4) - Aurora Mayor Mike Coffman and Gov. Jared Polis both honored the 12 lives lost on the ninth anniversary of the Aurora theater shooting. Just after midnight on July 20, 2012, a gunman opened fire on a crowd watching "The Dark Knight Rises."

Jonathan Blunk, A.J. Boik, Jesse Childress, Gordon Cowden, Jessica Ghawi, John Thomas Larimer, Matt McQuinn, Micayla Medek, Veronica Moser-Sullivan, Alex Sullivan, Alexander C. Teves and Rebecca Wingo lost their lives.

Polis said in a statement saying "Today marks another year where we mourn the lives that were cut all too short."

Aurora Theater Memorial
Ascentiate, a sculpture piece by artist Douwe Blumberg that features 83 large metal birds dedicated to the victims and the survivors of the 2012 Aurora theater shooting completed at the Aurora city garden near Alameda and Chambers July 19, 2018. (Photo by Andy Cross/The Denver Post via Getty Images)

On July 24, the 7/20 Memorial Foundation will host a celebration for the community, heroes and survivors of the shooting. The free event will feature a food truck, music, chalk artists from 5 p.m. to 8 p.m. Alcoholic beverages will be available for a donation. The money collected will help 7/20 Memorial Foundation maintain the theater shooting memorial and help survivors heal from the tragedy.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.