Watch CBSN Live

U.S. bans travel from several southern African countries due to new COVID variant Omicron

The threat from the Omicron variant, the latest strain of the coronavirus, prompted the U.S. to ban travel from countries in southern Africa. Dr. Anthony Fauci says the travel bans will buy the U.S. more time to get prepared. Errol Barnett reports from Dulles International Airport outside Washington, D.C.
View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.