Watch CBS News

US Women Defeat Japan 5-2, For 3rd Women's World Cup Title

VANCOUVER, British Columbia (CBS/AP) -- The United States has won its third Women's World Cup title and first since 1999 with a 5-2 victory over Japan on Sunday behind a first-half hat trick by Carli Lloyd.

Abby Wambach #20 of the United States. (Photo by Dennis Grombkowski/Getty Images)

The Americans became the first country with three women's titles and got a measure of revenge for their loss in the 2011 final against Japan. Abby Wambach and Christie Rampone, the only player remaining from the 1999 title team, both came on as subs late in what's expected to be their final World Cup appearances.

Lloyd scored in the third, sixth and 16th minutes, the last a speculative shot from midfield that beat Japan goalkeeper Ayumi Kaihori. Lloyd scored the fastest hat trick in World Cup history, men's or women's, in the highest scoring Women's World Cup final.

USA midfielder Carli Lloyd (L) vies with Japan's defender Saki Kumagai during the final football match between USA and Japan. (FRANCK FIFE/AFP/Getty Images)

Lauren Holiday also scored in the first half and Tobin Heath added a goal in the 54th minute after Japan scored an own goal to cut the deficit to 4-2.

Bay Area soccer fans were glued to their television screens for the match. In San Francisco, a huge crowd of several thousand gathered to watch for free on a giant screen set up at Civic Center Plaza.

"This was very mind-boggling, the first 20 minutes was madness," said one fan.

"I was sure they were going to win from the beginning," said another.

In Vancouver, the sellout crowd of 53,341 included U.S. Vice President Joe Biden.

When it was over, Lloyd collapsed to her knees and pumped her fists. Forward Abby Wambach bear-hugged teary eyed coach Jill Ellis, lifting her off the ground.

Carli Lloyd #10 of the United States celebrates the 5-2 victory against Japan in the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015 Final at BC Place Stadium on July 5, 2015 in Vancouver, Canada. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

Lloyd was awarded the Golden Ball as player of the tournament.

USA v Japan: Final - FIFA Women's World Cup 2015
Goalkeeper Hope Solo poses after winning the Golden Glove. (Photo by Rich Lam/Getty Images)

Goalkeeper Hope Solo won the Golden Glove.

© Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.