Watch CBS News

Coach Tomsula Names 49ers Team Captains

According to the team's twitter, San Francisco 49ers head coach Jim Tomsula announced the offensive, defensive and special teams captains Tuesday, with little to no surprises in the group.

On offense, it's lineman Joe Staley, wide receiver Anquan Boldin, tight end Vernon Davis and quarterback Colin Kaepernick. For defense, Safeties Antoine Bethea and Eric Reid make the list, as well as Novarro Bowman and Ian Williams. The lone special teams captain is the veteran kicker Phil Dawson.

After the numerous departures of pro bowl veterans this offseason, the new group of defensive captains is drastically different. Last season, Jim Harbaugh picked Justin Smith and Patrick Willis as the lone defensive captains, with Kaepernick and Staley representing the offense.

This is Kaepernick's third-straight year as a team captain. Under Harbaugh's tenure, players could not become a team captain for more than two years in a row. Tomsula is starting fresh, allowing Kaepernick a third year. Captains were voted on by teammates.

Another new rule under Tomsula is the captains will not wear 'C's' on their jerseys. His explanation: "I'm into the team game."


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.