Watch CBSN Live

U. Oklahoma President Named To Obama Advisory Committee

This story was written by Daily Staff, Oklahoma Daily

University of OklahomaPresident David L. Boren has been named to an advisory committee formed by presumptive Democratic presidential nominee U.S. Sen. Barack Obama, D-Ill.

"This is not just cosmetic," Boren told The Daily on his way to a book signing event in New Jersey. "He really wants to hear. It's not a photo op."

The 13-member Senior Working Group on National Security will advise Obama on foreign policy. The group met with the candidate for the first time Wednesday in Washington.

Each individual here today has provided extraordinary service to our nation in the executive branch and Congress, Obama said in a press release.

Other members of the group include former Secretarys of State Madeleine Albright and Warren Christopher, Susan Rice, a former Assistant Secretary of State and Jim Steinberg, a former Deputy National Security Adviser.

Boren said the advise the committee gives Obama could carry over into policy if he is elected in November.

"We're advising him, not only on just stances he should take on foreign policy, but what should he be doing if he becomes president," Boren said.

Boren served as a Chairman of the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence and a former U.S. Senator and governor of Oklahoma.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.