Watch CBSN Live

"Survivor" fans pick next season of castaways from pool of former contestants

In a first for the 30-seasons-and-running "Survivor" series, viewers got to decide which castaways are getting shipped out to battle for the $1 million prize.

The viewer-chosen cast was announced by perennial host Jeff Probst on the Wednesday night finale and reunion special of "Survivor: Worlds Apart," in which Texas oil-driller Mike Halloway was named season 30's winner.

Voting opened to the public on May 6 to select 20 contestants from a pool of 32 former castaways hoping to try again on "Survivor Cambodia: Second Chance," the show's 31st season, which will premiere this fall.

Among the 10 men and 10 women who boarded a bus to begin their journey to Cambodia Wednesday for "Second Chance" are season 1's Kelly Wiglesworth, and season 30's Shirin Oskooi and Joe Anglim on the heels of their last castaway challenge.

The full list of non-winners playing again:


Kelly Wiglesworth (Season 1, "Survivor: Borneo")

Kimmi Kappenberg (Season 2, "Survivor: The Australian Outback")

Peih-Gee Law (Season 15, "Survivor: China")

Monica Padilla (Season 19, "Survivor: Samoa")

Abi-Maria Gomes (Season 25, "Survivor: Philippines")

Ciera Eastin (Season 27, "Survivor: Blood vs. Water")

Tasha Fox (Season 28, "Survivor: Cagayan")

Kass McQuillen (Season 28, "Survivor: Cagayan")

Kelley Wentworth (Season 29, "Survivor: San Juan del Sur")

Shirin Oskooi, (Season 30, "Survivor: Worlds Apart")


Jeff Varner (Season 2, "Survivor: The Australian Outback")

Andrew Savage (Season 7, "Survivor: Pearl Islands")

Terry Deitz (Season 12, "Survivor: Panama")

Stephen Fishbach (Season 18, "Survivor: Tocantins")

Vytas Baskauskas (Season 27, "Survivor: Blood vs. Water")

Woo Hwang (Season 28, "Survivor: Cagayan")

Spencer Bledsoe (Season 28, "Survivor: Cagayan")

Keith Nale (Season 29, "Survivor: San Juan del Sur")

Jeremy Collins (Season 29, "Survivor: San Juan del Sur")

Joe Anglim (Season 30, "Survivor: Worlds Apart")