Watch CBSN Live

Soul Train Awards 2012 honor New Edition, Beyonce

Beyonce, Tyrese and Miguel were among the winners at The Soul Train Awards, which aired Sunday night on BET and Centric TV.

Taped Nov. 8 at Planet Hollywood in Las Vegas, the 25th awards gala, hosted by Cedric the Entertainer, featured a star-studded list of performers, presenters and honorees.

Beyonce scored two honors: best R&B/soul female artist and best dance performance for "Love on Top"; Frank Ocean won album of the year for "Channel Orange"; Elle Varner took home best new artist; Miguel walked away with best R&B/soul male artist; Tyrese's "Stay" won song of the year; and Estelle's "Thank You" received best international performance.

Whitney Houston was posthumously honored for her performance with Jordin Sparks on their "Sparkle" collaboration, "Celebrate." The song won best inspirational/gospel performance Sunday.

The members of New Edition, particularly Bobby Brown, gave an emotional acceptance speech after receiving the Lifetime Achievement honor. The group also performed a medley of "Candy Girl," "Telephone Man," and "If it Isn't Love."

Sparks tweeted: "So happy that Celebrate won Best Gospel/Inspirational Performance at the BET Soul Train Awards!! First of many Mama Whitney!! Miss you."

At the event, Miguel sang his hit "Adorn"; Ne-Yo performed "Let Me Love You";  Keyshia Cole sang "Trust and Believe"; and Tyrese performed "Stay." Other performers included Elle Varner, John Legend, 2 Chainz, Stevie Wonder, Eddie Levert and Charlie Wilson. Fantasia took on the Aretha Franklin classic, "Don't Play That Song For Me," and Anthony Hamilton sang Bill Withers' "Lovely Day." Marcus Canty, season one winner of "The Voice," took the stage with Luther Vandross on "Never Too Much."

Several stars served as presenters at the ceremony, including Billy Crystal, Donny and Marie Osmond Estelle, Melanie Fiona, George Wallace, Kat Graham, Luke James, Jimmy Jam, Jody Watley, Doug E. Fresh, Tony Rock, Mike Bivins, Gary Owen, Olympic gold medalist Cullen Jones, Kenny Lattimore, Lil Mama, and Julius "Dr. J" Erving.

The evening also featured a tribute to the late "Soul Train" creator Don Cornelius.

List of winners:

Best new artist- Elle Varner

Centric Award - Leah Labelle

Best gospel/inspirational performance - Whitney Houston & Jordin Sparks' "Celebrate"

Best hip-hop song of the year - Kanye West feat. Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz "Mercy"

Best R&B/soul female artist - Beyonce

Best R&B/soul male artist - Miguel

Album of the year - Frank Ocean's "Channel Orange"

Song of the year - Tyrese's "Stay"

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter's Award - "Tonight (Best You Ever Had)": John Legend featuring Ludacris

Best dance performance: Beyonce - "Love On Top" Best Caribbean performance - Sean Paul's "Tomahawk Technique" Best international performance -Estelle's "Thank You" Best independent R&B/Soul artist or group - Eric Roberson Best traditional jazz artist/group - TIE