Instagram unveils its year in review: Top trends from 2017

Instagram is doing some self-reflection Wednesday morning with the release of its 2017 year in review. Pop star Selena Gomez maintains her title as the most-followed celebrity with more than 130 million followers. Soccer star Cristiano Ronaldo comes in second at 116 million, followed by Ariana Grande at 115 million, Beyoncé Knowles-Carter at 108 million, and Kim Kardashian West at 104 million.

Beyoncé also enjoys the honor of the most-liked photo of the year. The now-mother of three got more than 11 million likes for her February announcement that she was pregnant with twins. Gomez may have been beaten out by Beyoncé for photo of the year, but she dominated that category, claiming half of the posts in the top 10. The most-liked video is Ronaldo showing off his new Bugatti. He scored more than 4.7 million likes and nearly 20 million views.

Honors for the year's top hashtag goes to "love" followed by "fashion," "photo of the day," "photography," and "art."

Instagram added something new to the lineup for this year's review: the most-used face filter on Instagram Stories. Face filters were added to the platform back in May. Turns out, the fan favorite for those is the puppy filter.  

"CBS This Morning" co-host Norah O'Donnell will take part in an Instagram livestream on the official Instagram account (@Instagram) Wednesday morning at 11:30 a.m. ET, to take a closer look at the year in review. 

Here are some of this year's categories:

Top hashtags

  1. #love
  2. #fashion
  3. #photooftheday
  4. #photography
  5. #art
  6. #beautiful
  7. #travel
  8. #happy
  9. #nature
  10. #picoftheday

Most-followed celebrities

  1. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) - 130M+ Followers
  2. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – 116M+ Followers
  3. Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) - 115M+ Followers
  4. Beyoncé (@beyonce) - 108M+ Followers
  5. Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) - 104M+ Followers
  6. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) - 104M+ Followers
  7. Kylie Jenner (@kyliejenner) - 99.5M+ Followers
  8. Dwayne Johnson (@therock) - 96M+ Followers
  9. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) - 93.9M+ Followers
  10. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner) - 84.8M+ Followers


Most-liked photos 

  1. Beyoncé (@beyonce)
  2. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano
  3. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez)
  4. Beyoncé (@beyonce)
  5. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano)
  6. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez)
  7. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez
  8. Cristian Ronaldo (@cristiano
  9. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez
  10. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez

I’m very aware some of my fans had noticed I was laying low for part of the summer and questioning why I wasn’t promoting my new music, which I was extremely proud of. So I found out I needed to get a kidney transplant due to my Lupus and was recovering. It was what I needed to do for my overall health. I honestly look forward to sharing with you, soon my journey through these past several months as I have always wanted to do with you. Until then I want to publicly thank my family and incredible team of doctors for everything they have done for me prior to and post-surgery. And finally, there aren’t words to describe how I can possibly thank my beautiful friend Francia Raisa. She gave me the ultimate gift and sacrifice by donating her kidney to me. I am incredibly blessed. I love you so much sis. Lupus continues to be very misunderstood but progress is being made. For more information regarding Lupus please go to the Lupus Research Alliance website: www.lupusresearch.org/ -by grace through faith

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

Most-Instagrammed locations

  1. Disneyland, Anaheim, USA 
  2. Times Square, New York City, USA 
  3. Central Park, New York City, USA
  4. Eiffel Tower, Paris, France
  5. Tokyo Disney Resort, Tokyo, Japan 
  6. Disney's Magic Kingdom, Orlando, USA
  7. Louvre Museum, Paris, France 
  8. Brooklyn Bridge, Brooklyn, USA
  9. Disney California Adventure Park, Anaheim, USA 
  10. Las Vegas Strip, Las Vegas, USA