Google+ user deletion purge sparks outcry

Google+
Google+

Over the weekend, Google stirred a hornet's nest after the company was reported to have purged multiple user accounts from its Google+ social network because they failed to use real names.

The company came under criticism for not warning users before deleting their accounts, and reportedly locking some users out of all Google services, including docs and Gmail.

On Sunday, Google's senior vice president of social, Vic Gundotra, acknowledged that the company has made mistakes in its first pass with Google+. But he explained that the requirement to use real names is an attempt to set a positive tone, "like when a restaurant doesn't allow people who aren't wearing shirts to enter."

Google+ deleting accounts en masse
4 things Google+ could do to fix Google+
Google VP: Why Google+ requires real names

But some Google+ users were able to call in favors, apparently. Our sister site ZDNet noted reported that some users were able to get their accounts restored. Privileged Plussers like celebrity Arianna Huffington got the immediate and personal restoration of her account by a Google+ Community Manager. Others were told to seek help in forums or submit a request for review.