Whether you're heartbroken by a breakup or happy to be single again, the end of a relationship raises all kinds of complications on Facebook. You may feel like you never want to see your ex again -- and yet there they are, constantly popping up in your News Feed.
The social network knows this, and it's rolling out some new tools to help.
"Facebook is a place for sharing life's important moments, which for many people include their romantic relationships," the company wrote in a blog post Thursday. "When a relationship ends, we've heard from people that they sometimes have questions about the options available to them on Facebook."
The new tools will give users options to see less of a certain person and to limit which of their own posts and photos that person can view, without having to unfriend or block them.
"When people change their relationship status to indicate they are no longer in a relationship, they will be prompted to try these tools," Facebook explains.
If you choose to see less of your ex, their posts won't appear in your News Feed and their name will no longer be suggested when you write a new message or tag friends in photos.
If you choose to limit what your ex can see, they won't see your posts unless you've tagged them or shared the posts publicly or with mutual friends.
You'll also be given the option to go back and edit old posts and untag them if you wish. And your ex won't be notified about any of your changes.
"This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives," said Facebook.