60 Minutes Win Murrow, Loeb Awards

News magazine wins 3 Murrow Award, 2 Loeb Business Awards

60 Minutes was awarded three Murrow awards by the Radio and Television News Directors' Association - the only network news magazine honored by the judges.

In addition, The Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Reporting offer two television prizes and 60 Minutes was awarded both of them

Separately, the CBS Evening News With Katie Couric won the Murrow award for best evening newscast for the second year in a row. The network submitted the broadcast of Nov. 12 to the RTNDA judges, which deemed the program that led with the economic bail out coverage, best newscast of the year.

And CBS Radio News won the Murrow "Overall Excellence" award for the third consecutive year, along with four other awards, bringing the number of honors to five - the most won by any network radio division.

The following 60 Minutes segments were awarded Murrow awards:

  • "The Wasteland" won for investigative reporting - the fourth major award that the investigation into electronic waste has won in the past seven months. It has also won Polk, Investigative Reporters' and Editors and Sigma Delta Chi awards. Scott Pelley, correspondent, Solly Granatstein, Nicole Young, producers, Tom Honeysett, editor.
  • The Wasteland also won the Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Reporting in the Television Enterprise category.

    Watch CBS Videos Online

  • In the hard-news feature category, 60 Minutes won for "Exonerated," the story of the 27-year wrongful incarceration of James Woodard. Scott Pelley, correspondent, Tom Anderson, Jenny Dubin, producers, Matthew Richman editor.

  • Watch CBS Videos Online

  • And in the feature reporting category, it won for "Rex," the ongoing story of a mentally disabled musical savant. Lesley Stahl, correspondent, Shari Finkelstein, producer, Meghan Frank, associate producer, Matthew Lev, editor.

  • Watch CBS Videos Online

    The second Loeb award went to Steve Kroft's three financial stories, "House of Cards," "Wall Street's Shadow Market" and "Financial Weapons of Mass Destruction" - all explaining the complicated and toxic financial instruments that caused the banking crisis. They were awarded the Television Breaking News prize. The stories were produced by L. Franklin Devine and Jennifer MacDonald; associate producer was Jonathan Schienberg; they were edited by Richard Koppel and Warren Lustig.

    Jeff Fager is the executive producer of 60 Minutes.