Watch CBS News

Here Are The New California Laws That Will Go Into Effect New Year's Day 2021

SACRAMENTO (CBSLA) - The new year will usher in a slew of new laws for California.

Minimum wage increase

Statewide minimum wage will go up to $14 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees. The city of Los Angeles already has a $15 minimum wage in place.

Certain police holds banned

AB 1196 prohibits police officers from using chokeholds and carotid holds following a number of in-custody deaths.

Increased hand-washing breaks for employees

Workers at food facilities will be allowed to take breaks every 30 minutes to wash their hands, or more often if needed under AB 1867.

Diversity requirements for corporate boards

Any corporate boards based in California must appoint a minimum of one director from an underrepresented community under AB 979.

Sales of certain cars prohibited

A 2010 law that required vehicle manufacturers to make brake pads with no more than 5% copper material by 2021 will limit the sales of certain Chevy Camaro models and other cars.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.