Watch CBS News

Grand Valley Now Has Reverse Transfer Deals With Every Community College In Michigan

ALLENDALE (WWJ) -- Grand Valley State University is the first university in the state to sign reverse transfer agreements with all 28 community colleges in Michigan.

The final signing, with Bay de Noc Community College in Escanaba, took place Oct. 31. This agreement helps students who transferred to Grand Valley complete an associate's degree at the community college. The initiative applies to students who have completed at least 40 credits at Bay de Noc, but transferred to Grand Valley before earning an associate's degree.

"Students transferring to Grand Valley from any one of the Michigan public two-year schools are the beneficiaries of this work in creating all of these agreements," said Lynn Blue, vice provost and dean of Academic Services and Information Technology. "Many students who enter a community college transfer to a four-year school before completing the requirements for an associate's degree, but end up satisfying the requirements en route to their bachelor's degree. Rarely, did students know to transfer their four-year work back to their former school. Now there is a process and an agreement on the part of all of the two-year schools to help those students with a richly deserved credential."

Grand Valley President Thomas J. Haas said: "The relationship Grand Valley now has with every community college in the state brings real value for students. These partnerships will help students achieve their dreams of earning a college degree. At the end of the day, it's all about students being successful. I want to congratulate Lynn Blue for her tireless work and success in arranging all 28 agreements."

Grand Valley has reverse transfer agreements with every community college in the state, which include Alpena, Bay de Noc, Delta, Glen Oaks, Grand Rapids, Gogebic, Henry Ford, Jackson, Kalamazoo Valley, Kellogg, Kirtland, Lake Michigan, Lansing, Macomb, Mid-Michigan, Monroe County, Montcalm, Mott, Muskegon, North Central Michigan, Northwestern Michigan, Oakland, Schoolcraft, St. Clair County, Southwestern Michigan, Washtenaw, Wayne County District and West Shore community colleges.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.