Watch CBS News

Detroit Lions QB Matthew Stafford To Receive Ed Block Courage Award

DETROIT — Detroit Lions QB Matthew Stafford will be honored as the Ed Block Courage Award winner at the 23rd Annual Detroit Lions Courage House Dinner Tuesday, November 15, 2016 at Ford Field. Detroit Lions all-time great offensive lineman and author Lomas Brown will be recognized as the 2016 Ricky Sandoval Award recipient.

The 23rd annual Detroit Lions Courage House Dinner will also feature The Blind Side's Leigh Anne Tuohy as guest speaker. The dinner annually benefits HAVEN, Oakland County's premier center for the prevention and treatment of domestic violence and sexual assault. Proceeds will target domestic and sexual violence prevention and treatment programs. Previous banquets have raised approximately $2.3 million for HAVEN.

The Ed Block Courage Award annually goes to a Lions player who exemplifies sportsmanship and has overcome injury and/or adversity to excel on the field. In 2015, Stafford appeared in 16 games for the Lions while managing arm, rib and quad injuries and was instrumental in leading the team to victory in six of the final eight games of the season.

"Throughout Matthew Stafford's entire career he has exhibited courage and competitive spirit through his play on the field while enduring numerous injuries," said Detroit Lions Head Athletic Trainer Kevin Bastin. "Over the course of my time in sports medicine, he stands out for always maintaining selflessness and a professional approach to game preparation and play on game day. That same attitude translates to his work in the community where he offers his support and time to many Detroit youth, area charities and foundations."
The Ricky Sandoval Award recognizes individuals that have made contributions both in sports and in the community. The award is named in honor of the late Lions director of security who lost his battle with pancreatic cancer in July 2009.

The 1985 first-round draft pick of the Detroit Lions, Lomas Brown spent 11 seasons with Detroit (1985-95). He started in three Pro Bowls (1991-92 and 1994) while representing the NFC for seven consecutive seasons (1990-96). Brown blocked for Hall of Fame RB Barry Sanders for seven seasons (1989-95); Sanders accumulated 10,172 yards and 73 rushing-touchdowns. Brown started 163 out of 164 games while in Honolulu blue. He retired from the NFL in 2002. Lomas Brown is an inductee of the University of Florida Athletic Hall of Fame.

After finishing his football career, Brown has invested countless hours in the metro Detroit community through the Lomas Brown Jr. Foundation, including hosting youth football camps with the Detroit Police Department. He recently released a book titled, "If These Walls Could Talk" available in stores and at The Stadium Collection now.

Past Ricky Sandoval Award Recipients have been: Steve Yzerman (2004), Roger Penske (2005), Jerome Bettis (2006), Charlie Sanders (2007), Lem Barney and Dave Bing (co-recipients in 2008), Mike Utley (2009), Eric Hipple (2010), Tim Pendell (2011), Doug English (2012), Kent Falb (2013), Dean Kleinschmidt (2014) and Mitch Albom (2015).

To purchase tickets for the Lions' Courage House Dinner please visit:

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.