Watch CBS News

Daley Appoints Three New Aldermen To City Council

CHICAGO (CBS) -- Mayor Daley on Wednesday appointed three new aldermen to the City Council.

They are: Shirley Newsome (4th Ward), Jason Ervin (28th Ward) and Tim Cullerton (38th Ward).

They will fill vacancies left by the departures of Ald. Toni Preckwinkle (4th), Ed Smith (28th) and Tom Allen (38th). Preckwinkle was elected president of the Cook County Board, while Smith and Allen retired. Allen was sworn is as a circuit court judge last month

The three appointments have to be approved by the full city council and were chosen through an online application process. The mayor said a total of 16 people applied.


View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.