Watch CBS News

5 Past Champions Highlight 2016 Chicago Marathon Field

(CBS) Five past champions highlight the Bank of America Chicago Marathon field, organizers announced Tuesday.

Headlining the field is marathon world record-holder Dennis Kimetto, a Kenyan who won the 2013 Chicago Marathon with a course record time of 2:03:45. He'll face stiff competition from defending champion Dickson Chumba of Kenya, 2012 champion Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia and 2008 Olympic 10,000-meter bronze medalist Micah Kogo of Kenya.

On the women's side, reigning Chicago Marathon champion Florence Kiplagat of Kenya headlines the field. Kiplagat is also the half-marathon world record-holder.

Kiplagat will be challenged by Ethiopia's Atsede Baysa, who won the Chicago Marathon in 2010 and 2012 and is the defending Boston Marathon champion. Baysa has the chance to become the first woman in history to win the Chicago Marathon three times.

The 39th annual Chicago Marathon will be held Oct. 9. The five past winners represent the most returning champions to compete in the same race in the event's history.

"Dickson, Tsegaye and Atsede have run their fastest career marathons in Chicago, and both Tsegaye and Dennis have experienced the thrill of breaking our course record," Chicago Marathon executive director Carey Pinkowski said. "To have so many past champions in one competition is thrilling. And there is depth on the American side as well; without pacesetters, we could see a new champion emerge from this talented field."

For more information on the elite field of the Chicago Marathon, visit

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.