Watch CBS News

Randy Moss Elected To Hall Of Fame, While Ty Law Comes Up Short In Voting

MINNEAPOLIS (CBS) – Two former Patriots found out their Hall of Fame fate on Saturday.

Randy Moss is now a Hall of Famer.

Ty Law is not.

On Saturday morning, debate and voting took place before the final decision was revealed later in the afternoon.

Moss made the Hall of Fame in his first ballot of being eligible, as did Ravens linebacker Ray Lewis. Bears linebacker Brian Urlacher, receiver Terrell Owens, and safety Brian Dawkins headline the Hall of Fame class of 2018.

Tom Brady and Randy Moss celebrate during the 2007 NFL season. (Photo by Jim Rogash/Getty Images)

Moss spent three-plus years with the Patriots after eight years in Minnesota and two with the Oakland Raiders.

In 2007, Moss hauled in career-best 23 touchdowns for New England and amassed 1,493 yards, second highest in his career.

He was a first-team All-Pro selection four times.

Ty Law
New England Patriots cornerback Ty Law (24) runs for a touchdown after intercepting a Kurt Warner pass during first half action on February 3, 2002 at Super Bowl XXXVI in New Orleans, Louisiana. (PETER MUHLY/AFP/Getty Images)

Law had a signature pick-six in Patriots' first Super Bowl victory over the St. Louis Rams.

In his career, he racked up 53 regular season interceptions, returning seven of them for touchdowns. In the playoffs, Law picked off six passes.

Most importantly, Law won three Super Bowls with the Patriots. His Hall of Fame call will have to wait.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.