Watch CBS News

O'Malley Names Members Of School Safety Board

ANNAPOLIS, Md. (AP) -- Gov. Martin O'Malley has appointed members of a new board to focus on school safety issues.

The governor on Monday named five members to the Maryland Center for School Safety Governing Board.

The board includes four members of the public, including Lorig Charkoudian, the executive director of Community Mediation Maryland. O'Malley also appointed Theresa Detorie, the director of security at the Bryn Mawr School for Girls.

Valerie Carr, a school bus driver with 25 years of experience, and Elizabeth Watson Ray, a special education teacher at Aberdeen Middle School, also have been appointed.

State Superintendent of Schools Lillian Lowery will chair the board.

The board will focus on disseminating information on best practices, providing training and technical assistance and gathering data on school safety issues.

(Copyright 2013 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.