Watch CBS News

Moonlight, American Honey Dominate Independent Spirit Noms

SAN FRANCISCO (CBS SF) -- Moonlight and American Honey dominate the list of nominations for 32nd Independent Spirit Awards.
The nominees were announced on Tuesday, with each film tied at six nods apiece.

Both indies earned Best Feature and Best Director (Barry Jenkins, Andrea Arnold) nominations. Honey's Sasha Lane and Shia La Boeuf were nominated for Best Female Actor and Best Supporting Male.

Moonlight's main character, Chiron was played by 3 different actors, and while none of them were nominated, the entire cast was awarded the Robert Altman award for best ensemble.

Manchester by the Sea was another standout with five nominations, including Best Picture and Best Male Lead (Casey Affleck).

In recent years, Spirit nominations are good predictors of Oscars, especially for Best Picture.

Winners will be announced on February 25.

Here is the list:

Best Feature
American Honey
Manchester by the Sea

Best Director
Andrea Arnold, American Honey
Barry Jenkins, Moonlight
Pablo Larraín, Jackie
Jeff Nichols, Loving
Kelly Reichardt, Certain Women

Best Male Lead
Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea
David Harewood, Free in Deed
Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic
Jesse Plemons, Other People
Tim Roth, Chronic

Best Female Lead
Annette Bening, 20th Century Women
Isabelle Huppert, Elle
Sasha Lane, American Honey
Ruth Negga, Loving
Natalie Portman, Jackie

Best Supporting Female
Edwina Findley, Free In Deed
Paulina Garcia, Little Men
Lily Gladstone, Certain Women
Riley Keough, American Honey
Molly Shannon, Other People

Best Supporting Male
Ralph Fiennes, A Bigger Splash
Ben Foster, Hell or High Water
Lucas Hedges, Manchester by the Sea
Shia LaBeouf, American Honey
Craig Robinson, Morris from America

Best First Feature
The Childhood of a Leader
The Fits
Other People
Swiss Army Man
The Witch

Best Documentary
I Am Not Your Negro
OJ: Made in America
Under the Sun

Best Screenplay
Barry Jenkins (story by Tarell Alvin McCraney), Moonlight
Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea
Mike Mills, 20th Century Women
Ira Sachs and Mauricio Zacharias, Little Men
Taylor Sheridan, Hell or High Water

Best First Screenplay
Robert Eggers, The Witch
Chris Kelly, Other People
Adam Mansbach, Barry
Stella Meghie, Jean of the Joneses
Craig Shilowich, Christine

Best Cinematography
Ava Berkofsky, Free In Deed
Lol Crawley, The Childhood of a Leader
Zach Kuperstein, The Eyes of My Mother
James Laxton, Moonlight
Robbie Ryan, American Honey

Best Editing
Matthew Hannam, Swiss Army Man
Jennifer Lame, Manchester by the Sea
Joi McMillon, Nat Sanders, Moonlight
Jake Roberts, Hell or High Water
Sebastián Sepúlveda, Jackie

Best International Film
My Golden Days
Toni Erdmann
Under the Shadow

John Cassavetes Award (Best Feature Under $500,000)
Free in Deed
Hunter Gatherer
Spa Night

Robert Altman Award (Best Ensemble)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.