Watch CBSN Live

2014 Tony Awards performers announced

The 64th Tony Awards ceremony is really starting to take shape with the first round of performers announced on Thursday.

Alan Cumming, Fantasia, Gladys Knight, Patti LaBelle, Idina Menzel and Sting are among the performers announced for the show, set to air live from New York's Radio City Music Hall on June 8 on CBS.

As part of "The Road to the Tonys" series, "C... 04:41

The show will feature performances by Tony nominee Neil Patrick Harris and the cast of "Hedwig and the Angry Inch," along with nominee Sutton Foster with the cast of "Violet."

Cumming, meanwhile, will reprise his Tony Award-winning role in a performance from the revival of "Cabaret," and Menzel will sing a song from the musical "If/Then."

Plenty of cast performances are expected, too, including "Aladdin," "Les Miserables," "Beautiful: The Carole King Musical," this year's leading nominated musical "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder," "Bullets Over Broadway" and "Rocky."

Kristine Johnson goes behind the scenes for a... 05:22

The cast of "Wicked" will celebrate the show's 10th anniversary with a special performance at this year's Tonys. LaBelle, Knight and Fantasia will take on a song from "After Midnight," and Sting will preview a number from his upcoming musical, "The Last Ship."

Hugh Jackman will host the show for the fourth time with several stars serving as presenters, including Kevin Bacon, Matt Bomer, Wayne Brady, Zach Braff, Kenneth Branagh, Patricia Clarkson, Bradley Cooper, Fran Drescher, Clint Eastwood, Emilio Estefan, Gloria Estefan, Vera Farmiga, Will Ferrell, Tony Goldwyn, Anna Gunn, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Ethan Hawke, Carole King, Zachary Levi, Lucy Liu, Kate Mara, Tony nominee Audra McDonald, Leighton Meester, Alessandro Nivola, Zachary Quinto, Emmy Rossum and Liev Schreiber.

Tell us: Which performance are you most looking forward to seeing?

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.