Watch CBS News

The Drill Of Victory! Texas Oiler Wins 'Survivor' 30 Finale As 20 Fan Faves Get Picked For Next Season

LOS ANGELES (  —  A new "Survivor" winner was crowned Wednesday evening and audiences learned the 20 fan favorites they picked on line who will compete next season.

Mike Holloway was named sole survivor in "Survivor: Worlds Apart" -- the show's 30th season. This season, the show pitted white collar, blue collar and no collar workers against each other in early going.

Holloway is a 38-year-old oil driller from Texas. He was a former member of the blue collar tribe.

Before the season began, the smart-as-a-whip Holloway said his biggest claim to fame was paying off his house in less than three years.

"It took a lot of Ramen noodle nights, but to see the focus and drive pay off was priceless," he said.

With the $1 million top prize, of course, he could buy a couple of more houses if he so chooses.

He self-described himself as loyal, ambitious and clever.

A few other castaways underestimated him but he said his faith (and a past as a kid who was bullied and molested) would carry him through.

Carolyn Rivera (white collar) and Will Sims II (no collar) were the other finalists.

After Hollyway, was chosen in a live finale, Jeff Probst (host and producer) went through the audience of assembled "Second Chance" candidates giving the 32 hopefuls a literal thumbs up or down to play in Season 31, "Survivor: Cambodia."

The ten women chosen to compete in Cambodia are: Kelly Wiglesworth (Season 1, "Survivor: Borneo"); Kimmi Kappenberg (Season 2, "Survivor: The Australian Outback"); Peih-Gee Law (Season 15, "Survivor: China"); Monica Padilla (Season 19, "Survivor: Samoa"); Abi-Maria Gomes (Season 25, "Survivor: Philippines"); Ciera Eastin (Season 27, "Survivor: Blood vs. Water"); Tasha Fox (Season 28, "Survivor: Cagayan"); Kass McQuillen (Season 28, "Survivor: Cagayan"); Kelley Wentworth (Season 29, "Survivor: San Juan del Sur") and Shirin Oskooi (Season 30, "Survivor: Worlds Apart.")

The ten men chosen are: Jeff Varner (Season 2, "Survivor: The Australian Outback"); Andrew Savage (Season 7, "Survivor: Pearl Islands"); Terry Deitz (Season 12, "Survivor: Panama"); Stephen Fishbach (Season 18, "Survivor: Tocantins"); Vytas Baskauskas (Season 27, "Survivor: Blood vs. Water"); Woo Hwang (Season 28, "Survivor: Cagayan"); Spencer Bledsoe (Season 28, "Survivor: Cagayan"); Keith Nale (Season 29, "Survivor: San Juan del Sur"); Jeremy Collins (Season 29, "Survivor: San Juan del Sur"); Joe Anglim (Season 30, "Survivor: Worlds Apart.")

The winners were whisked off in a bus, bags packed, presumably to start filming in Cambodia. Probst somewhat humorously (or was that ominously?) told them it was going to be "very hot and rainy."

Among those not chosen Brad Culpepper (Season 27, "Blood vs. Water") and Troyzan Robertson (Season 24, "Survivor: One World.")

Online voting to pick the 20 was open until 9 p.m. ET.

"Second Chance" will likely debut in September.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.