Watch CBS News

'Revenant', 'Big Short' Lead Oscar Nominations

BEVERLY HILLS ( — Nominations for the 88th annual Academy Awards were announced Thursday in Beverly Hills.

At 5:30 a.m., directors Guillermo del Toro and Ang Lee, actor John Krasinski and Cheryl Boone Isaacs presented the nominations at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Here is a complete list of the nominees:

— Best Picture: "Bridge of Spies"; "Brooklyn"; "Mad Max: Fury Road"; "Room"; "Spotlight"; "The Big Short"; "The Martian"; "The Revenant."

— Best Actor In A Leading Role: Bryan Cranston, "Trumbo"; Matt Damon, "The Martian"; Leonardo DiCaprio, "The Revenant"; Michael Fassbender, "Steve Jobs"; Eddie Redmayne, "The Danish Girl."

— Best Actor In A Supporting Role: Christian Bale, "The Big Short"; Mark Ruffalo, "Spotlight"; Mark Rylance, "Bridge of Spies"; Sylvester Stallone, "Creed"; Tom Hardy, "The Revenant."

— Best Actress In A Leading Role: Brie Larson, "Room"; Cate Blanchett, "Carol"; Charlotte Rampling, "45 Years"; Jennifer Lawrence, "Joy"; Saoirse Ronan, "Brooklyn."

— Best Actress In A Supporting Role: Alicia Vikander, "The Danish Girl"; Jennifer Jason Leigh, "The Hateful Eight"; Kate Winslet, "Steve Jobs"; Rachel McAdams, "Spotlight"; Rooney Mara, "Carol."

— Best Animated Feature Film: "Anomalisa"; "Inside Out"; "Shaun the Sheep Movie"; "When Marnie Was There"; "O Menino Eo Mundo."

— Best Cinematography: Ed Lachman, "Carol"; John Seale, "Mad Max: Fury Road"; Roger Deakins, "Sicario"; Robert Richardson, "The Hateful Eight"; Emmanuel Lubezki, "The Revenant."

— Best Costume Design: Sandy Powell, "Carol"; Sandy Powell, "Cinderella"; Jenny Beavan, "Mad Max: Fury Road"; Paco Delgado, "The Danish Girl"; Jacqueline West, "The Revenant."

— Best Directing: George Miller, "Mad Max: Fury Road"; Lenny Abrahamson, "Room"; Tom McCarthy, "Spotlight"; Adam McKay, "The Big Short"; Alejandro G. Iñárritu, "The Revenant."

— Best Documentary Feature: "Amy"; "Cartel Land"; "The Look of Silence"; "What Happened, Miss Simone?"; "Winter on Fire: Ukraine's Fight for Freedom."

— Best Documentary Short: "A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness"; "Body Team 12"; "Chau, Beyond the Lines"; "Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah"; "Last Day of Freedom."

— Best Film Editing: Margaret Sixel, "Mad Max: Fury Road"; Tom McArdle, "Spotlight"; Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey, "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"; Hank Corwin, "The Big Short"; Stephen Mirrione, "The Revenant."

— Best Foreign Language Film: "A War"; "Embrace of the Serpent"; "Mustang"; "Son of Saul"; "Theeb."

— Best Makeup And Hairstyling: Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega and Damian Martin, "Mad Max: Fury Road"; Love Larson and Eva von Bahr, "The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared"; Siân Grigg, Duncan Jarman and Robert Pandini, "The Revenant."

— Best Music (Original Song): Earned It, "Fifty Shades of Grey"; Manta Ray, "Racing Extinction"; Simple Song #3, "Youth"; Til It Happens To You, "The Hunting Ground"; Writing's On The Wall, "Spectre."

— Best Music (Original Score): Thomas Newman, "Bridge of Spies"; Carter Burwell, "Carol"; Jóhann Jóhannsson, "Sicario"; John Williams, "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"; Ennio Corricone, "The Hateful Eight."

— Best Production Design: Adam Stockhausen, "Bridge of Spies"; Colin Gibson, "Mad Max: Fury Road"; Eve Stewart, "The Danish Girl"; Arthur Max, "The Martian"; Jack Fisk, "The Revenant."

— Best Short Film (Animated): "Bear Story"; "Prologue"; "Sanjay's Super Team"; "We Can't Live Without Cosmos"; "World of Tomorrow."

— Best Short Film (Live Action): "Ave Maria"; "Day One"; "Everything Will Be Okay"; "Shok"; "Stutterer."

— Best Sound Editing: Mark Mangini and David White, "Mad Max: Fury Road"; Alan Robert Murray, "Sicario"; Matthew Wood and David Acord, "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"; Oliver Tarney, "The Martian"; Martin Hernandez and Lon Bender, "The Revenant."

— Best Sound Mixing: Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Drew Kunin, "Bridge of Spies"; Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo, "Mad Max: Fury Road"; Andy Nelson and Christopher Scarabosio, "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"; Paul Massey, Mark Taylor and Mac Ruth, "The Martian"; Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, Randy Thom and Chris Duesterdiek, "The Revenant."

— Best Visual Effects: Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett, "Ex Machina"; Andrew Jackson, Tom Wood, Dan Oliver and Andy Williams, "Mad Max: Fury Road"; Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan and Chris Corbould, "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"; Richard Stammers, Anders Langlands, Chris Lawrence and Steven Warner, "The Martian"; Rich McBride, Matthew Shumway, Jason Smith and Cameron Waldbauer, "The Revenant."

— Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay): Nick Hornby, "Brooklyn"; Phyllis Nagy, "Carol"; Emma Donoghue, "Room"; Charles, Charles Randolph and Adam McKay, "The Big Short"; Drew Goddard, "The Martian."

— Best Writing (Original Screenplay): Matt Charman, Ethan Coen and Joel Coen, "Bridge of Spies"; Alex Garland, "Ex Machina"; Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve and Josh Cooley, "Inside Out"; Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, "Spotlight"; Jonathan Herman and Andrea Berloff, "Straight Outta Compton."

The Academy Awards will be presented at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood on Feb. 28 with Chris Rock hosting for a second time.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.