Watch CBS News

Casper Ware Wins District IX Player Of The Year

(AP) -- The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has chosen Steve Fisher of San Diego State as its coach of the year for District IX.

Casper Ware of Long Beach State was chosen player of the year for the region that includes California, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii, Arizona and Alaska.

Ware was among 10 players named to the all-district team announced Tuesday.

The others are Jared Cunningham of Oregon State, Matthew Dellavedova of Saint Mary's, Kyle Fogg of Arizona, Jamaal Franklin of San Diego State, Jorge Gutierrez of California, Orlando Johnson of UC Santa Barbara, Brock Motum of Washington State, and Washington teammates Terrence Ross and Tony Wroten.

The honors were decided in voting by the USBWA's national membership.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.