Watch CBS News

White Sox' Liam Hendriks Named American League Reliever Of The Year For Second Year In A Row

CHICAGO (CBS/AP) -- White Sox closer Liam Hendriks has been named the American League Reliever of the Year, for the second straight season.

Hendriks is the first back-to-back AL winner in the eight-year history of the Mariano Rivera Award.

He led the league with 38 saves and led all relievers with 113 strikeouts.

For the National League, the Milwaukee Brewers' Josh Hader won his third Trevor Hoffman Award as the Reliever of the Year.

Voting was based on regular season performance and was conducted among seven former relievers: Rivera, Hoffman, Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, Lee Smith, John Franco and Billy Wagner.

(© Copyright 2021 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.