Watch CBS News

Northwestern's Chris Collins Receives Technical Foul After Arguing Missed Call Late In 2nd Half

By Bryan Altman--

(CBS Local)The NCAA has issued a statement on a missed goaltending call by the officials in top-seeded Gonzaga's 79-73 win against eighth-seeded Northwestern in the second round on Saturday, saying that the officials "missed a rules violation" but also reaffirming the officials' decision to issue a technical foul Wildcats Chris Collins on the play.

After trailing by 20 earlier, the Wildcats went on a 23-8 run to cut their deficit to 63-58 at the time of the controversy, which resulted from Gonzaga's Zach Collins rejecting Northwestern's Dererk Pardon's layup attempt by putting his hand through the inside of the cylinder, which is illegal.

The refs missed the call, however, resulting in Collins stepping onto the court to confront the official, who then called a technical on Collins.

Gonzaga made the pair of free throws to extend its lead to seven, which ultimately would seriously damage Northwestern's attempt at a comeback.

The Wildcats kept it close up until the last minute, but the Bulldogs prevailed to punch their ticket to the Sweet 16.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.