Watch CBS News

Everybody Who's Anybody In The Cubs Organization Will Be At Cubs Convention

(CBS) If you were wondering which headliners and big names will be in featured at the 31st annual Cubs Convention that starts next Friday, the answer is yes.

Yes, that player/coach/executive/legend/goofball/etc. will be probably be there.

Here's the list, which the Cubs released Friday afternoon. Notably, former Cubs second baseman Ryne Sandberg will be in attendance. He was passed over by the Cubs on multiple occasions for their managerial job. He eventually became Phillies manager before resigning from the post last June. (And if you're wondering, no, Sammy Sosa's not on the list.)

Current players
Andury Acevedo, RHP
Miguel Montero, C
Arismendy Alcantara, INF/OF
Edgar Olmos, LHP
Jake Arrieta, RHP
Neil Ramirez, RHP
Javier Baez, INF
Clayton Richard, LHP
Dallas Beeler, RHP
Anthony Rizzo, INF
Rex Brothers, LHP
Hector Rondon, RHP
Kris Bryant, INF
David Ross, C
Trevor Cahill, RHP
Zac Rosscup, LHP
Jeimer Candelario, INF
Addison Russell, INF
Carl Edwards Jr., RHP
Kyle Schwarber, C
Justin Grimm, RHP
Jorge Soler, OF
Jason Hammel, RHP
Pedro Strop, RHP
Kyle Hendricks, RHP
Matt Szczur, OF
Jason Heyward, OF
Dan Vogelbach, INF
Pierce Johnson, RHP
Adam Warren, RHP
Eric Jokisch, LHP
Travis Wood, LHP
John Lackey, RHP
Ben Zobrist, INF

Joe Maddon, manager
Mike Borzello, catching coach
Chris Bosio, pitching coach
Tim Buss, strength & conditioning coach
Eric Hinske, asst. hitting coach
Brandon Hyde, first-base coach
Gary Jones, third-base coach
John Mallee, hitting coach
Dave Martinez, bench coach
Chad Noble, bullpen catcher
Lester Strode, bullpen coach

Cubs alumni
John Baker, C
Jose Cardenal, OF
Ryan Dempster, RHP
Bobby Dernier, OF
Scott Eyre, LHP
Randy Hundley, C
Fergie Jenkins, RHP
Jon Lieber, RHP
Ted Lilly, LHP
Bill Madlock, INF
Dave Otto, LHP, broadcaster
Ryne Sandberg, INF
Scott Sanderson, RHP
Lee Smith, RHP
Tim Stoddard, RHP
Rick Sutcliffe, RHP
Steve Trout, LHP
Billy Williams, OF
Kerry Wood, RHP

Tom Ricketts, chairman
Laura Ricketts, board member
Todd Ricketts, Board Member
Theo Epstein, president of baseball operations
Crane Kenney, president of business operations

Baseball staff/broadcasters
Jed Hoyer, executive vice presidnet/GM
Jason McLeod, senior vice president of scouting and player development
Randy Bush, assistant GM
Shiraz Rehman, assistant GM
Jaron Madison, director of player development
Ron Coomer, radio broadcaster
Jim Deshaies, TV broadcaster
Pat Hughes, Radio broadcaster
Len Kasper, TV broadcaster

Special guest

Clark the Cub

The convention will take place next Friday through Sunday at the Sheraton Grand Chicago. It starts Friday at 6 p.m. There will be autograph sessions, interviews, interactive games, comedy vignettes, meet-and-greet events, question-and-answer sessions, various baseball panels, trivia contests and much more.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.