Watch CBSN Live

Second Cup: Sixpence None the Richer

Sometimes an album is released later than expected. The wait could drive some bands mad. For Sixpence None The Richer, the release of their latest music wasn't perfect timing, but the right time.

The Nashville-based pop band dropped by The Saturday Early Show's Second Cup Cafe to perform acoustic versions of their new singles "Breathe Your Name" and "Tonight" from their new album "Divine Discontent." They also performed their Grammy-nominated single, "Kiss Me," from their self-titled album which went platinum in 1998.

In the late 1990s, the band toured for over a year. Soon afterwards, they took a rest that seemed to last a decade. Sixpence None The Richer's latest work was delayed for over two years by record label bureaucracy. The group went through three label affiliations before finding a new home at Reprise Records. Now after a long wait, the group has created a more mature pop album with twelve original tracks.

Sixpence None The Richer is fronted by lead singer Leigh Nash. She is joined by guitarist Matt Slocum, guitarist Sean Kelly, bassist Justin Cary, drummer Rob Mitchell and keyboardist Jerry Dale McFadden. Slocum served as co-producer along with Paul Fox, renowned for his work with XTC, the Sugarcubes, 10,000 Maniacs, The Wallflowers and others. Mixing chores were handled by maestro Tom Lord-Alge.

During her break from the band, Nash had the opportunity to record with Delerium in the track, "Innocente (Falling In Love)," which reached the Top Five on the Billboard Dance Charts in the spring of 2001. She also performed in Skeeter Davis's classic "The End Of The World" with Los Straitjackets, the Top 20 single on the Billboard Adult Contemporary Charts, and "Need To Be Next To You," for the film "Bounce."