Osgood To Be Honored – Again

Charles Osgood has been anchor of CBS News Sunday Morning since 1994.
CBS News Sunday Morning anchor Charles Osgood will have to dust off a place on his mantle again. He's adding to his already impressive list of honors with the Radio-Television News Directors Association's Paul White Award for 2005. It recognizes his lifetime contributions to electronic journalism.

Osgood joins the likes of past recipients Edward R. Murrow, Ted Koppel, Dan Rather, Peter Jennings, Tom Brokaw, Ed Bradley, Bob Schieffer and Jane Pauley.

The award, established in 1956, is named for the broadcast news pioneer who was the first news director at CBS.

Osgood will pick it up at the RTNDA@NAB in Las Vegas April 18.

The veteran correspondent, who joined CBS News in 1971 and CBS News Sunday Morning, also anchors and writes The Osgood File, his daily news commentary broadcast on the CBS Radio Network.

"Charles Osgood has conveyed his love of language in all of his work," says Barbara Cochran, RTNDA president. "He has brought a distinctive voice to radio news and has kept Sunday Morning a haven for news about the arts, the natural world and fascinating people."

"During a remarkable four-decade career, Charles Osgood has consistently delivered stories filled with keen insight, grace and wit to his radio and TV audiences," says Bob Salsberg, RTNDA past chairman and broadcast editor at Associated Press in Boston. "Millions of Americans make The Osgood File a part of their daily routine, and many more set aside time for Sunday Morning each weekend."

Osgood knows from awards.

He was inducted into the National Association of Broadcasters Hall of Fame in 1990 and has received some of the highest accolades in broadcast journalism, including a 1999 International Radio and Television Society Foundation award for significant achievement. He received a 1997 George Foster Peabody Award for CBS News Sunday Morning and two additional Peabody Awards, in 1985 and 1986, for Newsmark, a weekly CBS Radio public affairs broadcast. He received his third Emmy Award in 1997 for his interview with American realist painter Andrew Wyeth for CBS News Sunday Morning.