Watch CBS News

"The Amazing Race" set to kick off Season 36 Wednesday night on CBS

"The Amazing Race" kicks off Season 36 Wednesday March 13
"The Amazing Race" kicks off Season 36 Wednesday March 13 03:13

NEW YORK - The Emmy award-winning series "The Amazing Race" kicks off its 36th season Wednesday night March 13 on CBS. 

The beloved race around the world features thirteen new teams competing for a $1 million grand prize. 

Host Phil Keoghan kicks off the race from Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, where the 13 new teams must participate in a traditional Mexican rodeo and lasso their way to the finish line without coming in last. The stakes are high because there are no non-elimination legs, and the team to finish last in each leg will be eliminated. Along the route, Racers will go paragliding in Colombia, rally car racing in Argentina, and visit two new countries – swimming through waterfalls in the Dominican Republic and visiting music superstar Rihanna's childhood home in Barbados.

"This season of 'The Amazing Race' features a cast of adventurous thrill-seekers. We always want to challenge our cast and surprise our viewers, so we are excited to travel to two new countries along the route," said executive producers Bertram van Munster and Elise Doganieri. "The 90-minute episodes are returning, which really allows us to delve into the countries on the route and get to know our amazing cast. We are ready for a global adventure like never before."

"The Amazing Race" set to return tonight for season 36 03:53

This season on "The Amazing Race," one of the 13 teams trekking around the world will be eliminated at the end of every leg. Each team is comprised of two people who have a pre-existing relationship with one another. At every destination, each team competes in a series of challenges – some mental and some physical – and when the tasks have been completed, they learn their next destination. The locations that teams will travel to include Mexico, Colombia, Chile, Argentina, Uruguay, Barbados, Dominican Republic and Pennsylvania state, where the first team to cross the final finish line will be crowned the winner of "The Amazing Race" and win the $1 million prize.

Jerry Bruckheimer, Bertram van Munster, Jonathan Littman, Elise Doganieri, Mark Vertullo, Phil Keoghan and Patrick Cariaga are the executive producers for Jerry Bruckheimer Television and Earthview Inc. in association with ABC Studios and Amazing Race Productions. "The Amazing Race" was created by Bertram van Munster and Elise Doganieri.

*Paramount+ with SHOWTIME subscribers will have access to stream live via the live feed of their local CBS affiliate on the service, as well as on demand. Paramount+ Essential subscribers will not have the option to stream live, but will have access to on-demand the day after the episode airs.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.