Watch CBSN Live

Polish President Ratifies EU Reform Treaty

Poland's president has completed his country's ratification of the European Union reform treaty _ leaving the Czech Republic as the only nation yet to sign off on the agreement.

President Lech Kaczynski signed Poland's ratification of the so-called Lisbon Treaty on Saturday at a ceremony attended by European Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso.

Poland's parliament overwhelmingly approved the treaty last year, but Kaczynski's signature was still needed.

To come into force, it must be ratified by all 27 EU nations. Czech President Vaclav Klaus has not yet signed it.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.