Watch CBSN Live

Dingell Announces Whip Team

House Energy and Commerce Chairman John D. Dingell is expected to unveil his 24-member whip team later today in his bid to retain the gavel, Politico's John Bresnahan reports.

Dingell's team includes a number of prominent centrist Democrats, according to source close to the chairman, making this race against the more liberal California Rep. Henry A. Waxman an obvious litmus test for the direction of the party before Democrats embark on the next Congress with one of their own in the White House.

The whip team, which is co-chaired by Texas Rep. Chet Edwards and Michigan Rep. Bart Stupak, includes some of the most influential Blue Dogs, like Florida Rep. Allen Boyd, Utah Rep. Jim Matheson, Arkansas Rep. Mike Ross and Tennessee Rep. John S. Tanner.

It also includes 13 members of the Energy and Commerce panel, including Virginia Rep. Rick Boucher, who chairs the powerful energy subcommittee, and Texas Rep. Gene Green, the most prominent so-called "Oil Patch" Democrat.

Agriculture Chairman Collin C. Peterson of Minnesota is the only fellow panel chair on this list.

The full list follows the jump.
Continue reading post...

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue