Country Fast Facts: Morocco


moveClock(); //function call


In 788, about a century after the Arab conquest of North Africa, successive Moorish dynasties began to rule in Morocco.

In the 16th century, the Sa'adi monarchy, particularly under Ahmad Al-Mansur (1578-1603), repelled foreign invaders and inaugurated a golden age.

In 1860, Spain occupied northern Morocco and ushered in a half century of trade rivalry among European powers that saw Morocco's sovereignty steadily erode; in 1912, the French imposed a protectorate over the country.

A protracted independence struggle with France ended successfully in 1956.

The internationalized city of Tangier and most Spanish possessions were turned over to the new country that same year. Morocco virtually annexed Western Sahara during the late 1970s, but final resolution on the status of the territory remains unresolved.

Gradual political reforms in the 1990s resulted in the establishment of a bicameral legislature, which first met in 1997.

Lower house elections were last held in September 2002, while upper house elections were last held in September 2006.

Source: CIA World Fact Book